Champion! Indonesian U-16 National Team Enthroned In The AFF Cup After Beating Vietnam 1-0
Muhammad Kafiatur Rizky (right) trying to break through the Vietnam national team defense (Photo: Antara)

JAKARTA - Indonesia silenced Vietnam with a narrow 1-0 score in the final of the U-16 AFF Cup at the Maguwoharjo Stadium, Sleman, Yogyakarta, Friday night.

Indonesia's only goal was scored by midfielder Muhammad Kafiatur Rizky.

In that match, both teams tended to play cautiously for at least the first 10 minutes.

However, slowly Indonesia was able to find a gap in Vietnam's defense and opened the right kick on goal in the 13th minute through Figo Dennis.

Vietnam did not want to lose and fired a shot a minute later from Le Dinh Long Vu's header which goalkeeper Andrika Fathir Rachman saved.

After that, the speed of the game increased even more. Quoted from Antara, both Indonesia and Vietnam were both dominant in attacking from the wings, but could not score goals due to the discipline of their respective back lines.

The squad nicknamed Garuda Asia had a chance in the 29th minute through Muhammad Riski Afrisal's free kick which was captured by Vietnam goalkeeper Pham Dinh Hai.

When the match looked like it was going to be a goalless draw, Muhammad Kafiatur fired a shot inside the penalty box which hit the Vietnam goal in the 45+2 minute. Indonesia also closed the first half with a 1-0 advantage.

In the second half, Indonesia and Vietnam made buying and selling attacks. However, there were no additional goals from either team.

The final score remained 1-0 for Indonesia as well as bringing Garuda Muda to its throne in the AFF U-16 Cup.

Here is the line-up for the first eleven of the two teams:

Vietnam U-16 National Team: Pham Dinh Hai-pg, Le Nguyen Quoc Kien, Vi Dinh Huong, Le Thang Long, Nguyen Huu Trong, Nguyen Cong Phuong (captain), Bui Hoang Son, Le Dinh Long Vu, Le Duc Phat, Phan Thanh Duc Thien, Nguyen Trung Nguyen.

Indonesian U-16 National Team: Andrika Fathir Rachman-pg, Rizdjar Subagja, Muhammad Iqbal Gwijangge (captain), Sulthan Zaky, Habil Abdillah, Achmad Zidan, Figo Dennis, Muhammad Kafiatur, Muhammad Riski Afrisal, Arkhan Kaka, Muhammad Nabil Asyura.

The English, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, and French versions are automatically generated by the AI. So there may still be inaccuracies in translating, please always see Indonesian as our main language. (system supported by